Name: Kerri Roberts

Birthday: April 23, 1992

My Journey with Thrive

Figuring out where I was called to work was a crazy ride. After finishing my Bachelor of Science – Kinesiology and Bachelor of Education, I went on to supply teach in various Christian schools. One of the schools that I was teaching at mentioned a potential partnership that they may create with an organization called Thrive. I thought nothing of it as it didn’t involve me until the principal of the school recommended me to them for their Curriculum Development Coordinator position. Not knowing what would be involved, I thought that it wouldn’t hurt to meet up with these people and see what they had to offer. I sure am glad that I attended this meeting. Right off the bat, I could sense that Dale and Linda were amazing people who cared deeply about what they do. After a short meeting, we both agreed that this would be a great fit. The position began in November 2016 and I immediately started to learn about all the great things Thrive was doing. During my time in this position, I organized a great partnership with an Environmental Block class at the high school I was previously teaching at. It was great having Grade 10 Canadian students involved in curriculum development for people on the other side of the world! After ten short months, Thrive wanted me to take on more responsibilities with a new position as the Canadian Administrative Coordinator. The first two months in this position were challenging as I had a lot to learn from website design to Google advertising, etc. Currently, I chat with Dale many times a day about his great ideas and how to put them into action. As well, I manage all communication and administrative tasks required by the organization. I am beyond grateful to have had the opportunity to travel to Kenya last month as I got to see what Thrive is doing first hand. I am very thankful that I have found such an amazing career with Thrive!

What is your favourite vegetable?

There are so many delicious vegetables that I love to eat that it is hard to pick just one! My favourite would have to be broccoli. I enjoy eating broccoli raw along with other vegetables, but I also love including it in my salads and soups – broccoli cheddar soup is my go-to soup during cold, winter days.

What is your greatest achievement?

Looking back, I think one of my greatest achievements was attending and completing University. This is a big achievement for me as no one in my family ever went to University or left home for educational reasons. Therefore, this was a big deal and I am so glad that I have completed it.

As well, another great achievement that I can’t forget is attending a service trip to Belize in 2010. As a group, we went to Belize to help a school to create a concrete pad in the middle of their schoolyard. This was really needed because the dirt from this area would often get blown around by the wind. On many days the wind would be so bad that the dirt would often enter the classrooms and disrupt the children as they tried to learn. The classrooms did not have any doors or windows, but just open areas where the dirt would enter. It was a great accomplishment to actually complete this concrete pad when the staff there thought that with the time that we had we would only be able to prepare it for the concrete and not actually finish it. I will never forget this experience and am so glad that I was able to help in some way.

I believe that these achievements will change as I continue to work for Thrive and touch the lives of many people!

Belize - Staff

If you could visit anywhere in the world you’ve never been, where would you go?

Growing up I have always had the dream of travelling to Australia and learning how to surf. I hope that one day I will still be able to travel there so that I can create a new dream destination.

What is your favourite quote?

“Be the change you wish to see in the world”

– Mahatma Gandhi

What are your hobbies/interests?

All my life I have always been a sports fan. I enjoy playing competitive sports like soccer, volleyball, ultimate frisbee and basketball. If I am not playing sports, I am usually hanging out with family and friends – especially spending time with my first nephew, being an Aunt is great! During the summer, when I am not working I am usually outside exploring or working in the gardens. Lastly, when I have time I like to make things with my hands which is usually a delicious meal or rustic, wood home decor signs for people.

Blessings,

Kerri Roberts

O4O Staff - Kerri Roberts